Hey guys, I need some clarification on how stacking abilities works during combat. I was playing at Games Haven the other day, and my opponent said I couldn't stack my trigger from 'Glistener Elf' before using 'Giant Growth'. Is that true? I thought I could just order them how I like. Anyone can help me out? Thanks ah!
Eh bro, you can stack your abilities however you like lah. The order matters, especially if you want to make sure your Giant Growth resolves before your opponent's response. Glistener Elf's ability is a triggered one, so you can totally put it on the stack first, then pump it later. But make sure you have the mana ready if you plan to do that, unless you wanna end up like me last week during the Singapore Open, where I got caught without mana and lost just like that. Best to check with a judge next time if unsure!
Totally agree with you! I had a similar situation during the Malaysia Championships last month. My opponent thought I couldn't respond with abilities after he declared blockers. But actually, I just needed to remind him that it’s all about the timing! Also, don't forget to practice with your playgroup at Grey Ogre Games! They always have judges around to help clarify any rules questions. Plus, it's great to chill and play some games there when the weather is hot. Stay cool, guys!
Haha, true lah! Sometimes we just need a reminder. Just make sure you know when to call a judge if things get messy. I once had a game at Flagship Games where the ruling was super unclear, and the judge ended up giving us a quick lesson on how attacking and blocking works. It’s always good to understand the rules better, especially with our SEA meta changing so fast. You never know what kind of tech someone might bring to the next event, kan?!
Hey there! Great question. In Magic, you can definitely stack your abilities in the order you prefer, as long as they are triggered abilities. So, you can put the trigger from your Glistener Elf on the stack before casting Giant Growth. Your opponent might have misunderstood the timing rules a bit. It's always good to have a friendly chat with the judges, like the ones at Battle Arena in Singapore, to clarify things when in doubt. They can really help clear up any confusion during games. Plus, with the hot weather lately, it’s nice to chill in an air-conditioned store while playing! Keep enjoying the game and don’t hesitate to ask if you have more questions. Cheers!
Hi there! I totally get where you're coming from. In Magic, you have the right to stack your triggered abilities as you see fit. So yes, you can place the trigger from your Glistener Elf on the stack before casting Giant Growth. Your opponent might have been a bit confused about how the timing works. It’s always good to double-check these things! I remember one time at Comic Fiesta in Malaysia, I had a similar situation where my opponent thought I couldn't stack my abilities either. After a quick chat with the judge, everything was cleared up, and we both learned something new. It's nice to have those moments, especially when you’re playing in the heat! Don’t hesitate to reach out to local judges or experienced players at shops like Game Hub or Card Game Arena for clarifications. We're all here to enjoy the game together! Keep having fun and feel free to ask if you have more questions!