Forums / Rules & Judges / Clarification on Combat Damage Timing

Clarification on Combat Damage Timing

Posted by about 1 month ago

Eh all, got a question about combat damage timing lah. If I declare blockers and my opponent casts a spell in response, does the damage still go through? I was playing at Games Haven and someone tried to tell me otherwise. Need to clarify before Singapore Open, can’t afford to make mistakes there!

Replies (3)

MTGSingapore about 1 month ago

Bro, when you declare blockers, the damage is still dealt unless the creature gets removed or something. So if your opponent casts a spell to buff their creature after you block, the damage calculation happens as normal. Just make sure to check for any instant spells, lah.

VNGrinder about 1 month ago

I faced a similar issue at Grey Ogre Games last week. One of my friends thought he could activate something after blockers were declared. I told him, no way man! Timing is super important. Better to double-check the rules before heading to Malaysia Championships, don’t want to embarrass yourself!

about 1 month ago

Yah, I totally get you. Local meta can be confusing with all these tricky plays. Plus, with the humidity now, can make your brain foggy when playing. Just remember, clarity is key! If you still have doubts, maybe ask a judge next time, they usually around at Flagship Games.